Meet our Steering Committee Members

The group who sets the strategic direction and goals of the initiative, makes key decisions, gives feedback, prioritizes and implements ideas originating in the Working Groups.

Barry Bishop photo

Barry Bishop

Executive Vice President of the Greater Norfolk Corporation

Dr. Anita James

Assistant Superintendent, Chesapeake Schools

Cheryle Mack

Regional Business Officer, BB&T

Trish O'Brien

President & CEO, Children's Health Investment Program of South Hampton Roads

Mary Russo Riley

Administrator, Chesapeake Department of Human Services

Ipek Taffe

Leadership and Executive Coach and Community Volunteer

Dr. Jane Bray

Dean of the Darden College of Education, Old Dominion University

Angela Kellam

President and CEO of The Planning Council

Carol McCormack

President, United Way of South Hampton Roads

Brenda M. O'Donnell

ECDC Coordinator, Suffolk's Early Childhood Development Commission (ECDC)

Dr. Cynthia Romero

Director, Brock Institute for Community & Global Health, EVMS

Dr. Anita Taylor

Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum & Instruction, Portsmouth Public Schools

Kennisha Brown

Secretary, Calvart Square Tenant Management Council

Dr. Denise Littleton

Education Dean, Norfolk State University

Thaler McCormick

Chief Executive Officer, ForKids Inc.

Dr. Kerry Ragno

Dean of Languages, Mathematics and Sciences, Tidewater Community College

Danette Smith

Director, Virginia Beach Human Services Department

Kevin Turpin

President, Life Enrichment Center of Norfolk

Dr. Kate Ferguson

Director of Pediatrics Division, Eastern Virginia Medical School

Ms. Andrea Long

Chief Program Officer at The UP Center

Nancy Null

Director, Head Start/Early Head Start, Office of Human Affairs, Inc.

Dr. Linda Rice

Vice President for Grantmaking, Hampton Roads Community Foundation

Jerry Stewart

Workforce Development Coordinator, VA Beach Dept of Economic Dev't

Dr. Nancy Welch

Director of Public Health, City of Chesapeake